Begin forwarded message:

From: "Kurose, James" <[log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>>
Subject: Thank you to your faculty for serving as NSF/CISE peer reviewers
Date: March 2, 2019 at 9:42:28 AM EST
To: "[log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>" <[log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>>

Dear Sanjeev,

As we are moving forward with our 2019 activities, we want to take a moment to acknowledge all the hard work of our community in 2018.  In particular, we want to thank you and your colleagues at George Mason University for your commitment to serve the National Science Foundation (NSF) as peer reviewers, providing critically valuable input into our proposal review and decision-making process.  The encouragement and support that you provide to your faculty, as a leader at your institution, together with your faculty’s willingness to dedicate their time and effort toward this important work, has helped pave the way for new investments in computer and information science and engineering (CISE), and in advanced cyberinfrastructure.  These investments will result in scientific discoveries and discoverers that will benefit our Nation’s economy and security for years to come.

To give you a sense of the magnitude of this service, in the 2018 fiscal year (FY), NSF’s CISE directorate received 9,151 proposals, and ran 397 merit review panels with more than 30,000 individual reviews.  These panels and reviews in turn informed the decision making that led to a portfolio of 2,099 new awards in FY 2018, supporting 18,789 researchers and students.

So, we want to acknowledge the following faculty from your institution who served as NSF/CISE reviewers in FY 2018:
Ernest Barreto; Tyrus Berry; Songqing Chen; Jim Chen; Parag Chitnis; Aurali Dade; Carlotta Domeniconi; Samuel Gordon; Houman Homayoun; Aditya Johri; Jyh-Ming Lien; Jessica Lin; Daniel Lofaro; Sean Luke; Elise Miller-Hooks; Bernd-Peter Paris; Parth Pathak; Nathalia Peixoto; Huzefa Rangwala; Matthias Renz; Avesta Sasan; Amarda Shehu; Siddhartha Sikdar; Angelos Stavrou; Liang Zhao;

Their contributed time and expertise, often involving travel to DC, has been invaluable.

Please extend our thanks and gratitude to these colleagues for their contributions to our merit review process, and please help us encourage others at your institution to follow their example.  As you know, service to the community — in roles here at NSF, as members of federal advisory committees, as participants in community visioning workshops, or as peer reviewers — plays a vital role in the stewardship of our investments and in pushing forward the frontiers of our field.

We look forward to continued engagement with you and your colleagues.  Thank you again for all of your help.


Jim and Erwin


Jim Kurose, NSF Assistant Director for CISE
Erwin Gianchandani, NSF Deputy Assistant Director for CISE