Volgenau School faculty and staff,

I am delighted to announce that our very own Cheryl Howe of the AIT Department has been named George Mason University's Academic Advisor of the Year!! Congratulations to Cheryl for this well-deserved award!

This year, the university also recognized ten advisors with Honorable mentions, including Smriti Kansal of the ECE Department! Congratulations to Smriti as well!

Please join me in congratulating Cheryl, Smriti, and all of our VSE nominees for this important award:

Paul Ammann - CS
Peggy Brouse - SEOR
Paulo Costa - SEOR
Liza Durant - CEIE
Krzysztof Gaj - ECE
Rajesh Ganesan - SEOR
Cheryl Howe - AIT
Smriti Kansal - ECE
Chris Kauffman - CS
Kathryn Laskey - SEOR
Caitlin Laurence - BENG
Andrew Loerch - SEOR
Craig Lorie - ECE
Sean Luke - CS
Ami Motro - CS
Jeff Offutt - CS
Bernd-Peter Paris - ECE
Huzefa Rangwala - CS
Mark Snyder - CS
Girum Urgessa - CEIE
Pearl Wang - CS

Thanks to the nominees and to all of you who do so much to help our students!


Sharon A. Caraballo, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs
Volgenau School of Engineering
George Mason University