From Alison Games at Georgetown:

Dear Colleagues,

Some of you might be interested in the book and article prizes and the
research grant offered by FEEGI, the Forum on European Expansion and
Global Interaction. I'm pasting in the text below, but please also see
the attached flyer for details.

best wishes,
Alison Games

The Forum on European Expansion and Global Interaction is pleased to
announce inaugural prizes to promote research and to recognize
exceptional scholarship on the subject of global interactions from the
fourteenth through the nineteenth centuries. FEEGI is a membership
organization that fosters scholarly inquiry into the world-wide
consequences of maritime and overland expansion in a period of
significant transformation. FEEGI encourage scholarship and
collaboration across the boundaries of national histories and
disciplinary frameworks.

FEEGI prizes recognize both exemplary and path-breaking work in the
area of cross-cultural or trans-regional investigations of the
early-modern past, broadly construed. Only members of FEEGI are
eligible for these prizes. To join FEEGI, go to

Research Travel Award
Recognizing the significant material and financial challenges inherent
in multi-sited studies, FEEGI will award an annual research grant of
$1000 to support travel to archival or other field sites. This award
is open to all FEEGI members but is intended especially for graduate
students, independent scholars, and scholars at the beginning of their

To apply for the 2013 research grant please submit the following
materials by February 1, 2013:

1) A short cv
2) A 500-750 word page project description. Your proposal should
include a justification of the importance of the project, a plan of
work with a timetable for research and a plan of work, including a
timetable, nature of research to be conducted, and mention of venues
to be visited. Applicants should also explain the intended results of
the research
3) A budget which includes an explanation of how you will spend the grant funds.

Materials should be gathered into a single file and sent electronically to:

David Hancock, University of Michigan (Chair) ([log in to unmask])
Marjoleine Kars, University of Maryland, Baltimore County ([log in to unmask])
Carla Rahn Phillips, University of Minnesota ([log in to unmask])

Please arrange to have one letter of recommendation (signed and on
institutional letterhead) emailed separately to David Hancock
([log in to unmask]).
The award will be announced by late March.

FEEGI Prizes: Grad Student Paper, Best Book, Best Article

FEEGI will award biennial prizes for best book and best article
published in English, and the best paper presented by a graduate
student at the biennial meeting.

Graduate Student Paper Prize
The first graduate student paper prize will be awarded in 2012 for a
paper presented at the April 2012 biennial meeting. The deadline for
students to submit revised conference papers is 1 September 2012.
Please email papers as .pdf or .doc attachments to

Laura Mitchell (Chair), UC Irvine [log in to unmask]
Jim Williams, Middle Tennessee State, [log in to unmask]
Molly Warsh, University of Pittsburgh,  [log in to unmask]


The best book and best article prizes recognize works published in a
two-year period, with prizes announced in odd years. The book prize
winner will receive $500; the article prize winner $200. The 2013
prizes will cover work published between 1 October 2010 and 1 October

Book Prize
To have your work considered for 2013 FEEGI Book Prize, send a hard
copy of the book to each of the committee members by 10 October 2012.
Please identify your book as a submission for the FEEGI Book Prize.

Mail your book to:

Alison Games (Chair)
Department of History, ICC 600
Georgetown University
Washington, DC 20057-1035

Wim Klooster
Department of History
Clark University
950 Main St.
Worcester, MA 01610

Marcy Norton
801 22nd St. NW, Suite 335
Department of History
George Washington University
Washington, DC 20052

Article Prize
To have your work considered for the 2013 FEEGI Article Prize:
Email a .pdf to each of the committee members by 10 October 2012

Chair: Matthew Romaniello, Univeristy of Hawaii: [log in to unmask]
Owen Stanwood, Boston College: [log in to unmask]
Kris Lane, Tulane University: [log in to unmask]